Amazon Blurb:

When it comes to jobs in hell, being a succubus seems pretty glamorous. A girl can be anything she wants, the wardrobe is killer, and mortal men will do anything just for a touch. Granted, they often pay with their souls, but why get technical?

But Seattle succubus Georgina Kincaid’s life is far less exotic. At least there’s her day job at a local bookstore–free books; all the white chocolate mochas she can drink; and easy access to bestselling, sexy writer, Seth Mortensen, aka He Whom She Would Give Anything to Touch but Can’t.

But dreaming about Seth will have to wait. Something wicked is at work in Seattle’s demon underground. And for once, all of her hot charms and drop-dead one-liners won’t help because Georgina’s about to discover there are some creatures out there that both heaven and hell want to deny. . .

Quote:

“Love is rarely flawless,” Carter pointed out. “Humans delude themselves by thinking it has to be. It is the imperfection that makes love perfect.”

Review:

Succubus Blues is a good start the series. It is a fast and fun read, very entertaining. Once the book starts, it takes off running, and I found myself enjoying it through the end. It wasn’t just fun to read though. I found myself emotionally connecting to the story in spite of myself. I just enjoyed rereading this more than I thought I was going to, and I’m glad.

What I really liked was the lore. I love each interconnecting piece of the angels vs demons and how they are put together. I love how Georgina found each individual clue into what was going on. I liked how Georgina herself didn’t even understand every clue. She just wasn’t well versed enough in the lore to understand. She had to keep going to other people to help her make sense of the things she found. Even if I don’t believe she should be investigating this at all, I like the way it played out.

Unfortunately, what I liked the least about Succubus Blues was Georgina. Oh my god, Georgina. So annoying. So fucking whiny. All she does is complain about her life. She has been a succubus for way too long, and she hates what she is. She still blames herself for what she did when she was still basically a child, two thousand years ago. She spends most of the book alternating between complaining about her situation and investigating something she has been told unequivocally to stay the fuck out of. Wish she would have gotten in trouble for this.

I also disliked the relationships. Both of them. Roman is really fun to be with. Seth is really sweet and kind, loveable even. Seth also has this thing where he has absolutely no social capabilities. It makes him relatable. I like both of the guys. Georgina, though? Georgina pushes both guys away again and again, yet they both still want her. Georgina constantly thinks that she isn’t good enough for anyone, and it just leads to more internal whining. Georgina also sorts of plays both Seth and Roman against them, even though she doesn’t want to be with either of them. I hate how Georgina handles relationships. However, I do kind of also like the relationship she could potentially have with Seth so far. It is just sad that Roman has a better, more present personality than Seth.

Despite intensely disliking the main character, I really liked the story. I’m looking forward to remembering where else this series takes me. I’m also hoping that Georgina herself gets better.

To read more reviews for this series, check out the Georgina Kincaid series page!