keikii Eats Books

We're Starving.

Lord John Grey spinoff by Diana Gabaldon

LGBT themes
Complete series with 3 books and a collection
Genres: historical fiction
Main series: Outlander


Lord John works for the Royal army. He also happens to be gay in a time when being gay is a grievous offense. Lord John is in a good position to travel the British empire and investigate weird going ons and interesting events in history. 

Reading Order:

1. Lord John and the Private Matter
2. Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade
3. The Scottish Prisoner

Lord John and the Hand of Devil:
Lord John and the Hellfire Club
Lord John and the Succubus
Lord John and the Haunted Soldier

Series Review:

This isn’t a badly written series. Gabaldon does her work when it comes to researching. She does it really, really well. I feel like I’m in the time period this is written in. I… just don’t care for it personally. This isn’t my type of story. I don’t really care for historical fiction. I can see it is well written, it just isn’t for me.

This is a spinoff series with a “fan favourite”, Lord John Grey, from Outlander. It takes place pretty much entirely between the events in book three, Voyager, and before the events in book four, Drums of Autumn, which skips about twenty years of time so there is a lot that can be covered.

I read this because I am a completionist. In fact, when I started Outlander, I told myself under no conditions was I going to read Lord John Grey. Yet, the further I got into Outlander, the more the absolutely insane drive to read everything took hold, and here I am, having read Lord John Grey. If you’re like me and only want to read this because of Outlander, these really aren’t bad. They’re just completely unnecessary to read, except for the Scottish Prisoner. Read the Scottish Prisoner. 


Create your website with
Get started
%d bloggers like this: